the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

carbon fiber sub box

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
spookiestylez 
Silver - Posts: 531
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: August 02, 2007 at 9:56 PM / IP Logged  
no complaints here, look great from my house!
rtfm
xtremej 
Gold - Posts: 1,440
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: August 03, 2007 at 2:21 PM / IP Logged  

Looks good, you should do a right up on the procedure/steps used to achieve this. I know I would read it, I have a custy wanting some carbon fiber kicks, pods and anything else he can get his parents to pay for..........

5.7mopar 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: August 03, 2007 at 2:25 PM / IP Logged  
I wouldn't mind doing a write up. I'm by no means a pro like some of the guys on here though. So I'm sure there's some pointers and tips they could add. Next time I do some carbon fiber work I'll take plenty of build pics and do a write up.
clasifiler 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: August 03, 2007 at 2:31 PM / IP Logged  
the smoothness you got in the final product, is that strictly resin/epoxy or was there some sanding and clearcoating as well?
5.7mopar 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: August 03, 2007 at 2:44 PM / IP Logged  
There is a TON of sanding involved with this type project. I started with 3 coats of clear poly resin. Next I wet sanded my way up from 240, 300, 400, 600, and 800 grit sand paper. In a nutshell, you use the lower grit paper to smooth out the surface and remove any waves or imperfections. Then from 400+ you are removing the scratches left from the lower grits. Once the surface is even and scratch free I polished it with a buffer and some 3m rubbing compound. Then 3 coats of clear coat, wet sanding with 1500 grit in between.
clasifiler 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace