icon

separate battery for lighting system

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
nervra 
Member - Posts: 1
Member spacespace
Posted: August 06, 2007 at 7:40 PM / IP Logged  
I have a 1988 Yamaha YSR 50, and want to install new custom headlights and tail light. The problem is the motorcycle runs at 6 volts, and my new lights are 12 volts. In order to do what I want to do, I have been told that I need to run a Total Loss Battery System with a 12 volt battery. I have very little electrical knowledge, and I have put together a very basic diagram. Please give me some advice or concerns on my diagram. Also, tell me if I am missing any important components.
Thanks!
separate battery for lighting system - Last Post -- posted image.
awdeclipse 
Copper - Posts: 285
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 14, 2007 at 10:02 AM / IP Logged  
Looks good, by total loss I'm guessing you mean that you need to charge it separately as the 6-volt system will not charge 12v...
Also, I don't know what kind of lights you are actually using but be sure the switches will handle the current draw of the lights otherwise consider using some relays to handle the current draw.
hotmilk400 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 14, 2007 at 6:39 PM / IP Logged  
talking about relays, make sure there are no relays on the 12 volt line, or you will destroy them.  make sure that the line only goes to the lights, and doesnt run anything else.  the power can safely go thought the relays, but make sure they dont have to power the relays (or u will need new ones)
awdeclipse 
Copper - Posts: 285
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 15, 2007 at 12:10 PM / IP Logged  
I'm not sure I understand your response... No relays on the 12 volt line?
hotmilk400 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 15, 2007 at 8:44 PM / IP Logged