fiberglassing with a mold

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
sstrawsb 
Member - Posts: 34
Member spacespace
Posted: November 11, 2007 at 11:57 PM / IP Logged  
Whats up guys,
Figured this the best place to ask this question. Im working on a 05 Scion tC. If anyone has ever seen where the spare tire is, there is a mold just like this one:
fiberglassing with a mold -- posted image.
This is one someone has has begun fiberglassing. This is exact thing im trying to accomplish. First off its my first time fiberglassing. Im actually working on two projects right now but thats not important.
My first problem with the mold was getting the resin to release from the mold. I used 3 layers of safe release painters tape. Still somehow some resin still leaked in. I think that was one major problem to get it to release from the mold. Is the tape supposed to release from the resin or no?
I guess this was my only real problem. I could not get the resin/fiberglass to release from the mold. I has to basically crack one corner to allow for me to wedge my hand underneath it and pry it out.
Next is the edges that hold up the top of the box that was made of mdf. Here is a picture of someone elses from the scion forum:
When i finally got my mold off those edges sadly didnt make it, haha. Im not to upset about it because this literally was my first time. Anyone got some helpful hints? Basically on how to release the mold. Also, I did 3 layers of resin then 2 layers of resin with the fiberglass before I tried to remove the mold. Was this correct?
Thanks everyone!
swerve 
Copper - Posts: 149
Copper spacespace
Posted: November 12, 2007 at 2:07 PM / IP Logged