icon

oscilloscope, setting gains

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
kamberkash 
Copper - Posts: 89
Copper spacespace
Posted: November 26, 2007 at 1:17 PM / IP Logged  

would there be any drawbacks to purchasing this o-scope? http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=320-290  the main reason i like it is because it is so freggin cheap compared to some other desktop type scopes. 

the only thing i really need to use it for is setting the gains on my amps, properly.  also i have never used an oscope before, so if i decide to buy it i would like to know how to use it, anyone have any pointer or resources?

boogeyman 
Silver - Posts: 359
Silver spacespace
Posted: November 26, 2007 at 1:27 PM / IP Logged  
  go to   www.csie/courses/baict/bac/jf/labs/scope/oscilloscope.html
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 26, 2007 at 1:44 PM / IP Logged  
I have no idea what boogeyman was linking to... I tried .com, .net, .org, .edu. Nothing worked. Wanna try again, boogeyman?
But in answer to your question, no, no problem at all... I have one I use it frequently. One note though, invest also in a set of rechargeable batteries for completely portable use, and the DC adapter for desktop use. The 20 hours for a set of batteries is VERY optimistic!
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
boogeyman 
Silver - Posts: 359
Silver spacespace
Posted: November 26, 2007 at 3:33 PM / IP Logged  
   sorry about that kamberkash andhaemphyst....try searching the web " using an oscilloscope" .  besiides yor scope should come with detailed instructions...      
kamberkash 
Copper spacespace