the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Powering Factory Amp in 96 Ford Explorer


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
s_goodie 
Member - Posts: 44
Member spacespace
Joined: November 30, 2007
Location: Michigan, United States
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 6:42 AM / IP Logged  

how would i power the factory amp in a 1996 Ford Explorer XLT i hooked up a new pioneer deck and it turns on my no sound comes out and i figure it is the factory amp not getting powered could someone please help me on this issue

Stuey BABE
perly 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: April 24, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 12:06 PM / IP Logged  
all you need to do is hook up your blue(or blue/white) wire from your pioneer harness to the blue wire(factory amp turn on) on your harness going to the car. If you did not use a harness (i do not know why you would not, unless the old harness was cut off by someone else) then search the vehicle database on here and figure out which wire is your turn on. if this dies not work i know that there are a bunch of different harnesses for fords so maybe you need to buy a different harness(one which states it is for factory amped systems)
perly 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: April 24, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 12:07 PM / IP Logged  
here is an example of the different harness. click here
s_goodie 
Member - Posts: 44
Member spacespace
Joined: November 30, 2007
Location: Michigan, United States
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 12:57 PM / IP Logged  
hey thanks but do you know anyway to bypass the amp or isit not worth my time
Stuey BABE
techman93 
Silver - Posts: 591
Silver spacespace
Joined: October 28, 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 3:05 PM / IP Logged  
I have had to use amp bypass harness before in a Taurus.
FORD BYPASS FACTORY AMP PLUG
1991-1995 explorer jumper to bypass factory amp. (FWH5)
$9.50
http://www.autotoys.com/x/product.php?productid=1444
FORD AMP HARNESS (WIRE YOUR NEW RADIO BYPASSING THE FACTORY AMP)
For FORD EXPLORER 1995-1997, LINCOLN CONTINENTAL 1994-1997, GRAND MARQUIS 1994-1997, MOUNTAINEER 1997, etc
$55.00
http://www.autotoys.com/x/product.php?productid=1434
The wire I'm test'n isn't doin' what it's supposed to be doin'... I am so glad I printed that tech sheet, with the wrong info.
Do it right the first time... or I might have to fix it for ya
perly 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: April 24, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 5:38 PM / IP Logged  
from the looks of the re-wire kit above the amp is in the back somewhere and I definately think that it is not worth the effort to bypass it. If it is not broken you might as well use it
aznboi3644 
Gold - Posts: 2,600
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: May 01, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 6:15 PM / IP Logged  
the amp is behind the rear passenger quarter panel
On some model Explorer the bypass harness does not fit...only one of the plugs fit on some model Fords...On mine only one of the plugs for the bypass harness fit and I had to cut the factory plug and harness and splice them together.
techman93 
Silver - Posts: 591
Silver spacespace
Joined: October 28, 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 6:57 PM / IP Logged  
You could find wires and hook directly to radio and unplug OEM amp.
LF Speaker (+)          ORANGE / LIGHT GREEN          
LF Speaker (-)          LIGHT BLUE/WHITE          
RF Speaker (+)          WHITE/ LIGHT GREEN          
RF Speaker (-)          DARK GREEN/ ORANGE          
LR Speaker (+)          GRAY/LIGHT BLUE          
LR Speaker (-)          TAN / YELLOW          
RR Speaker (+)          ORANGE / RED          
RR Speaker (-)          BROWN / PINK          
Amp Location          BEHIND TRIM PANEL NEAR WHEEL WELL IN RIGHT SIDE OF CARGO AREA - NOT ALL VEHICLES ARE EQUIPPED WITH AN AMP
The wire I'm test'n isn't doin' what it's supposed to be doin'... I am so glad I printed that tech sheet, with the wrong info.
Do it right the first time... or I might have to fix it for ya
jlman 
Member - Posts: 31
Member spacespace
Joined: September 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: December 05, 2007 at 8:39 PM / IP Logged  
I would personally bypass the amp. Its just one less thing that could mess up in the future.
just wait till the bass drops

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, July 12, 2024 • Copyright © 1999-2024 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer