icon

proper frequency adjustment?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
itsmejaytee 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Posted: December 08, 2007 at 5:22 AM / IP Logged  
Hi guys, I'm new at this and i apologize for my lack of knowledge with car audio.
I need someone, or something to show me how to properly adjust frequencys for sub amps and an amp for mids and highs
I currently have a kenwood kac-x1r pushing a kicker comp 15"
on the x1r there are ISF BRF and LPF frequency knobs and on off switches. I understand that they have to correspond with each other but i dont know how?
Also for the mids and highs, i have a 4 channel crunch gp4150 pushing infinity references with simply LPF and HPF.
So please some feedback on how to adjust them or even a detailed lesson would be greatly appreciated.
jrod83 
Copper - Posts: 81
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 08, 2007 at 8:30 AM / IP Logged  
LPF = Low Pass Filter, HPF = High Pass Filter, im assuming ISF is infrasonic filter. For the sub you would want LPF on. For the mids and highs it all depends if you want all pass or high pass on...high pass will give you a more tweeter-like effect, all pass will give you a louder all around, be careful with that though and make sure your door speakers can handl the RMS you throw at them.
MECP Certified
I am the loudest and proudest member of the Fighting Aggies Class of '11 WHOOP!
SAW 'EM OFF!
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 08, 2007 at 11:37 AM / IP Logged  

On the Crunch amp 4150, set the HPF at 80 Hz.

On the XTR, set the LPF at 80 Hz.  If the sub box is sealed leave the subsonic filter off.  If the box is vented, set the subsonic to about the box tuning frequency.