led signal light

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
monsterfa 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: February 20, 2014 at 5:18 PM / IP Logged  
Hello All,
Please bare with my n00b-ness as I am completely new to all this...
Ok so what I am trying to do is the following... I have purchased a 12v led strip that I am wanting to use for my back windshield as signal lights, but I want to put 3 separate strips of 12 leds in each strip for each side except the first strip would be 18, that form one solid strip, that blink in sequence and then fade out... kind of like the new mustang... but I want them to blink, fade out, then blink, fade out, then blink and fade out... all in sequence... Strip 1, then strip 2 and then strip 3, Then start over again... any help would be greatly appreciated... I have read that a 555 timer is in need? But that's as far as I can understand... I have attached what I am talking about kind of... if you can understand... I was inspired by the tesla model s 3rd brake light...led signal light - Last Post -- posted image.
monsterfa 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 20, 2014 at 5:38 PM / IP Logged  
I am willing to pay for someone to make this for me as well please let me know if someone can make it or if I can buy some sort of module somewhere for this task...
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: February 20, 2014 at 7:10 PM / IP Logged  
Forget the 555. You'd use a a uPC or PICAXE etc else buy and off-the-shelf circuit (which would be cheaper than having someone deign & build it for you).
I'd google for such products else similar DIY projects.
monsterfa 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 20, 2014 at 8:28 PM / IP Logged  
thanks oldspark
I did find some stuff thats similar but I dont know how I would join them together persay and make them accomplish what I am trying to accomplish....