icon

whats too much eq?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
daboss593 
Copper - Posts: 154
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 29, 2008 at 9:03 AM / IP Logged  
hi im new to car audio and doing my 3rd install. i dont claim to know hardly a thing but i take my time and do it right. id like some advice on eqs and whats over kill? my current system im working on has a pioneer 480mp with a built in eq, also have a eq-6500, and also the built in x-overs in my alpine amps these are old school dc direct amps. we also have some audio control stuff ones  1/3 octave the other a 30 band. speakers are 1252w infinity running at 2 ohms. audiobahn matched 6 1/2 and tweeter in the front. and 2 way 6x9 for rear fill. the front speakers do come with a cross over /cap setup. my general idea which is prob wrong lol. was to use the 1/3 octave audiocontrol for the subs. the eq-6500 for the front and rear speakers. and to run the head unit and amps flat. ive heard way to many diff ways to go on this. i go for sound balance not just ghetto boom. any and all advice would be great keep the hate mail though. thanx
OWWWWWWWWWWW you said you discharged the cap!
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: March 29, 2008 at 9:17 AM / IP Logged  
ANY equalization that changes the frequency response from flat is too much equalization.
An EQ should be a tool to fix anomalies in the response; to take the response to flat, not to augment, or change what is there to what the listener wants to hear, IMO. After THAT point is reached, then the listener can adjust with the tone controls in the source unit. (Yes, that is still EQ, but I think an outboard processor should be used for FIXING, not augmenting.)