icon

diode protected relay

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
y2j514 
Copper - Posts: 94
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2010 at 7:36 PM / IP Logged  
Wow thanks - thats pretty cool.  Only problem is I'm having some trouble reading that.  I got the jist of it though.  See the problem is I'm no engineer.  I am however, very sciency inclined, but the extend of my physics is at a CEGEP level (CEGEP is like the quebec equivalent of the last year of high school/1st year of university).  So I know resistors, capacitors etc.  the basic.  If I were to go about this - should I do this on a small perforated board?  Finally, would I have to do one of these circuit for each fan or could I connect the fans in series at the end of this one circuit?
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,671
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: January 17, 2010 at 7:50 PM / IP Logged  
The device far left of the bottom diagram is a 100K potentiometer.  There are 3 connections on it.  The middle one connects to the 10K resistor.  If you get the stuff from Rad Shack, let me know I can draw you an actual picture so you know which terminal of the pot connects to input or ground.  Also the transistor has 3 legs on it also.  The fans must be connected in parallel.  You may want to purchase a small heat sink for the transistor if you are going to be pulling more than 1/2 amp through it.
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2010 at 8:01 PM / IP Logged  
Temp switching may be easy using klixons (is that a trade-name.... ooops?) especially if rounded temps are suitable - ie, here we have 50 60, 70, 80 90, 100, 110 etc degrees-C klixons (about AUD$4-$5 each).
Klixons are merely a 2-terminal thermal switch capable of switching 5A.
They come in NO or NC (Normally Open or Closed) variants.
You'd probably use NO types so they close when above a certain temp.