icon

converting polarity issue

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
KPierson 
Platinum - Posts: 3,527
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: January 04, 2011 at 11:09 AM / IP Logged  
converting polarity issue - Page 2 -- posted image.
Kevin Pierson
scam404 
Copper - Posts: 113
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 04, 2011 at 11:59 AM / IP Logged  
Kevin,
Thanks a lot for that diagram. I have never used a transistor before, but I have been reading about them and they do not seem to be too difficult. I imagine in this case I will not be amplifying any signal but instead just using the transistor as a switch. On your diagram at the bottom you show the output as a negative out, but you have it labeled as 12 VDC, are you just saying that it is a ground output? Also, on my install I diode isolated all four of the door triggers, but I do not see any diodes on your diagram, that will not make a difference will it?
KPierson 
Posted: January 04, 2011 at 12:53 PM / IP Logged  

The diodes are there - they are the black triangles before all four switches come together.

The transistor collector should NOT be connected to 12vdc.  I'm not sure why I did that.  That (-) output should be connected directly to the (-) input of the alarm and voice module.

Make sure you connect the emitter of the transistor to ground, the base to the output of all 4 doors, and the collector to the inputs of the devices.  Should be pretty easy.

Kevin Pierson
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: January 04, 2011 at 12:53 PM / IP Logged  
Scam, the diodes are represented by the arrows at bottom going to the transistor.
The bands would be towards the transistor.
I agree with your polarity comment, what's the answer KP?
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: January 04, 2011 at 12:55 PM / IP Logged  
Sorry, KP, bad timing.
scam404 
Copper spacespace