icon

crazy custom install

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
TheevesLLC 
Member - Posts: 41
Member spacespace
Posted: August 18, 2003 at 10:21 PM / IP Logged  

i'm trying to build a crazy tri-chamber enclosure with a 10", a 12", and a 15" subwoofer, 1800w, 1800w, and 2000w respectively.  should i put each subwoofer on it's own correspondingly powerful amp, or should i just put them all on one huge amp?  i  know i won't be able to hear much of the 12 or likely any of the 10 over the 15, but i'm just going for seriously powerful bass, and showy looks.  each subwoofer will have it's own enclosure, so frequencies won't interfere.  i plan on using an isolator, and one or two additional batteries for the system.  i'm not very experienced building high power systems, but i want to do it all right.  should i ground all my devices to a distribution block, with one huge ground? or should they all ground separately?

i guess i have too many questions to post, but if anybody cares to offer some advice it would be well received (-;

thanks,

connor

bryceyaworsky 
Copper - Posts: 152
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 18, 2003 at 10:28 PM / IP Logged  
If you plan on giving each of them their full power rating I'd probably go with a separate amp for each, but you could also use a high power 2-channel for your 10 and 12 and then give the 15 its own amp.  I'm assuming that you've given the peak power ratings?
JamesRH 
Copper - Posts: 102
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 19, 2003 at 12:34 AM / IP Logged  
personal note learnt through experience...mixing sub sizes does not sound great,,,at certain notes they will cancel eachother out...
wizzle 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 19, 2003 at 1:42 AM / IP Logged