icon

Ground Q/A sticky

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
feintfury 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: July 15, 2006 at 10:43 AM / IP Logged  

Hello, I'm new to installing radios & I'm poor so I can't have someone install it for me.

Truck - '92 Ford F-150 premium sound system

Head unit - JVC Km-SX770 45wtx4

I have a couple questions to ask you.

See, I'm installing a JVC head unit into my truck & I was reading the JVC manual & saw it only works with a -12v ignition & battery hookup, & the manual said I needed to get a voltage inverter because my truck has a +12v battery.  Now I heard that I need a 10 watt voltage inverter & I just hook it up to the battery, is this correct?  If so, where can I find one & how do I hook it up?  I heard if hook up the wrong grounds you could burn your truck up.

I also have the premium sound system, so should I buy the harness for the premium, because my head unit has plenty of watts & channels for me. I also want to hookup an amp & sub in the future.

I know all the wire hookups & the like, I just need to fix the problem with my battery & harness basically.

Any feedback is appreciated.  Thanx

forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 15, 2006 at 12:17 PM / IP Logged  

Your manual more than likely has a misprint on it. All radios made in the last 20 years and probably more are a - ground and + power / ignition. You will not need a power invertor to hook this up. This should be a new cd player, correct? If so that is one whopper of a typo in the user manual.

Top Secret, I can tell you but then my wife will kill me.
kungwaz 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: July 17, 2006 at 4:05 AM / IP Logged  
Hi!