icon

JL 300/4 Speaker Distortion

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
sh0wty 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Posted: February 21, 2006 at 11:31 AM / IP Logged  
Hello Folks, Newbie here trying to see if I can get some help in fixing my system somehow.
Its on a 1997 Ford Expedition w/o Mach System.
My System:
Pioneer Deck DEH-840MP (Decent deck)
4 Pioneer Speakers (TS-A6870R 6X8 3-WAY 50W RMS (REAR) -Pioneer TS-A6880R 6 x 8 4-Way 50W RMS (FRONT))
Just Installed - JL 300/4 to power my speakers..
Of course after the installation, I was told the JL was too powerful for the Pioneer Speakers, since the JL puts out 75 watts RMS, so now I was told I have to find more powerful speakers.. Funny how they didnt tell me this before the install.. Anyway
I tried to play with the amp and adjust it. I have dealt with some amps before back in the day, and I have played with the 'gain' levels for adjustment. However, With the JL 300/4, I could not find the actual 'gain' adjuster. I set all the settings on the radio to 0.
I have included a picture below of the controls of the JL 300/4. Maybe you can tell me what I should adjust.
JL 300/4 Speaker Distortion -- posted image.
As for my sound right now, The rear were set to only highs (THE HPF Set to on), and the front speakers distort after setting the volume to about 30 (When the max is about 50). I took pictures of the wiring of the amp as well, which to my surprise may be the problem. The front of the amp seemed to have been bridged, which is why distortion may be high because of too much power being placed on the speakers?
Here are the pictures I took. The first is the wiring for the front of the amp and the second picture is the rear wiring.
FRONT
REAR
I hope you guys can guide me in the right direction on what I should do or look for.
Thanks for your time.
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816