icon

Valet 562T Remote Start Issue

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
sizzource 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: December 06, 2006 at 11:28 AM / IP Logged  
I just recently got my remote start (Valet 562T) installed a Circuit City. Not the best place to get it installed, just a heads up. Took them 8 total hours over the period of 2 days.
Anyways, my question is I am going to in for service and I was told that if you disconnect the battery then reconnect it, the car will start up. I am not sure how this works, and if someone could explain to me how to make sure that doens't happen or how to prevent that from happening, I would be much appreciative.
Would I need to install a standard switch to the 12v constant to shut the entire system off?
What other cool features does this system have, I am new to remote starts and would like to get my $200 outta it.
Thanks!
Big Dog 
Gold - Posts: 1,265
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 06, 2006 at 12:18 PM / IP Logged  

How to prevent it? Turn the toggle switch off before you take your car in for servicing. In fact, if you feel that you absolutely cannot function without ten fingers, do this everytime before popping the hood open whether they installed a hood switch or not.

What else does it do? Read the owner's manual.

Prepare your future. It wasn't the lack of stones that killed the stone age.
sizzource 
Member spacespace
Posted: December 06, 2006 at 12:54 PM / IP Logged  
I don't have a toggle switch. I was asking if I should install a toggle switch to accomplish this. The installers didn't install one.
And what do you mean by functioning with ten fingers. Is there a saftey risk going on or something?
Big Dog 
Posted: December 06, 2006 at 2:37 PM / IP Logged  

There was supposed to be one in the box! Demand that they install it and don't buy the story that you don't need one because there is an underhood switch.