Testing Ground Points

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
fireballuk2001 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: January 28, 2003 at 6:16 PM / IP Logged  

Hi

Im new to car audio, and have run into problems with my setup. My problem is that my newley installed sub and amp were very weak with the bass (not so loud bass and some distortion) compaired to when it was installed in the previous owners car. I moved the ground point and the bass increased to a very good level with no distortion. It then decreased after a while to its initial level and have been unable to figure out why. Is this the sign of yet another bad Ground?

The main question though is how do i test the ground? I have a digital multimeter and know basic electronics...

Thanks in advance!

themagicone 
Silver - Posts: 325
Silver spacespace
Posted: January 28, 2003 at 7:06 PM / IP Logged  

Your ground is very important to the sound system in your car. First, make sure that you have at least the same size wire for ground and as power, if not bigger. Second, make it short as posable. Third, make sure its a very clean metal spot you ground it to. You can test a ground by attaching one side of the metter to the ground and then the other side to the ground on the battery, you should get 1 to 5 ohms max resitance. You may also have what is called a ground loop which can cause problems and add noise to the system. To prevent ground loops make sure that the deck is ground to a good ground and all your amps are grounded together. Also make sure the rca's are not grounded. Try that and get back to me, if it dosent work i have a few  other ideas for ya.

fireballuk2001 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 28, 2003 at 7:26 PM / IP Logged