icon

salary, pay, need opinions

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
xxajohnsonxx 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2007 at 7:00 PM / IP Logged  
I work for a car stereo shop. Im pretty new to this business, having been in it for about 6 months now. I dont know how to do it all, but what I do know ive been getting better at as time progressed.
The problem is I think my boss is ripping me off.
Its car starter season over here and we are doing tons of starters every day, and i get em done in around 1.5-2 hours each (except for chryslers because as we all know they are much more of a pain in the a**).
Im getting paid $7.00 an hour, which is really crappy money.
Can anyone tell me what i should be making for the experience that i currently possess?
thanks
Twelvoltz 
Platinum - Posts: 2,384
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 20, 2007 at 7:20 PM / IP Logged  
Why don't you check out the going rate for shops in your area, if you find that what you are getting paid is substantially less than what someone with the same skill set you possess is making in the other shop approach your boss with that information. If your boss does not want to offer you what you think you are worth, apply at the other shop. $7.00/hr seems more like a rate you would pay the person who pushes a broom at the end of the day, not an installer's wage.
Installer, IT support, and FFL. I need less hobbies.
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,056
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 20, 2007 at 7:26 PM / IP Logged  
7.00 per hr. is not even minimum wage. 
enice 
Silver - Posts: 857
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 20, 2007 at 8:50 PM / IP Logged