the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

gear motor wiring needed


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
adshaft 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 16, 2005
Location: Canada
Posted: April 03, 2008 at 7:38 PM / IP Logged  

gear motor wiring needed -- posted image.

gear motor wiring needed -- posted image. 

I just bought a Permanant Magnet Gear Motor, here are the specs:

Parallel Shaft

Max 90RPM @ 90VDC
5/8" Diameter Shaft
3-1/2" Shaft Height

I need to know how to wire this up. I intend to attach a motor controller to this (Bodine Electric DPM-4332E DC Motor Speed and Torque Controller). Specs: INPUT: 115 VOLT, 50/60 Hz, 7.8 AMP This motor will be used for a welding positioner, which I want to build. So  very low RPMs are needed. I've included a photo of the controller.

What I know is that there are 2 wires coming out of motor (Red & Black) in the black square removable enclosure at rear of motor. I plugged it in my 120 volt (regular house outlet) and the motor just vibrates without turning. The motor has two brushes under those chromed hats, you only see one in the picture, but it has another one on the opposite side as well. Seeing how this is a 90 vdc how can I operate it on my 120 volt outlet?

If someone can please give me a step by step or a diagram, it would be greatly greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Adam

i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,465
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: April 03, 2008 at 7:55 PM / IP Logged  
Don't plug it back into the wall socket.  It was going back and forth because it is a DC motor. An AC voltage is not good for it.   Have you tried Googling the motor.  I have seen a lot of things installed in a vehicle, but I have never seen one of these.
KPierson 
Platinum - Posts: 3,526
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: April 14, 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: April 03, 2008 at 8:07 PM / IP Logged  

Yeah, you can't run a DC motor on AC voltage.  You will need a controller of some sort, like the one in the picture.  I will convert the AC to DC and provide control of how much voltage is applied (ie the RPM).

Kevin Pierson

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, November 29, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer