the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

problems with my pdx 1.1000


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
abnormalbehavio 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: May 14, 2008
Location: Maryland, United States
Posted: May 14, 2008 at 7:28 AM / IP Logged  
i am having an issue with my amp i blew up my 12w7 and put 2 12inch alpine type-s subs i have layin around in until i get a new sub each sub is wired for 2 ohm and my amp keeps cutting out when i turn it up even with one sub because if both are hooked up to the amp there is a major power loss so i only got one hooked up and it keeps goin in to protection mode????
snotdobbs 
Copper - Posts: 148
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 11, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: May 14, 2008 at 8:21 AM / IP Logged  
had that happen once....thought it was a bad amp, but it turned out even though i thought the subs i had hooked up to it were fine...they were both definetly bad. I had two fosgate he2 subs wired in a series/parallel configuration to two ohms on a pdx 1.1000. It would play fine for two minutes then cut out. It was my first experience with a pdx amp so i thought the amp was no good.....i was being stubborn about it not being my subs...but it was....
just my experience
oh...since then ive setup plenty of systems with these amps and they will perform as stated. The only bad one i ever had was a 4.150 that whined like nobodies business through the front tweeters in a bi-amp setup....other than that pretty cool...
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: May 14, 2008 at 9:58 AM / IP Logged  
First of all, how'd you "blow up" a W7?  Sounds to me like your amp is severely clipping.  As far as the issue you're having now, if it is not broken, the amp is going into protect because you either have too low an impedance load (If each sub is wired for 2-ohms, how are they connected to the amp?) your gain is too high (How did you set it?) or your system voltage is dropping too low (have you measured it?)  Or any combination of these things.
Support the12volt.com
jmelton86 
Gold - Posts: 1,228
Gold spacespace
Joined: February 07, 2007
Location: South Carolina, United States
Posted: May 14, 2008 at 7:02 PM / IP Logged  

/\ x2. Also, what enclosure was the 12W7 in? That is as equally important as the other 3.

2013 Kia Rio -90a alternator
DDX470HD GTO14001 GTO1014D (x3)
Big3 in 1/0G
1/0G to GTO14001
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,053
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: May 15, 2008 at 8:52 AM / IP Logged  
...and from what I heard from tcss (my, up-till-recently, Alpine dealer) if the DCR is even SLIGHTLY below 2 ohms, the amps will shut off. I run mine at a 4 ohm load, so I cannot speak to that, but try to re-wire your woofers. You'll get slightly less power, but the amp will stop shutting down on ya.
And yeah... You need to SERIOULSY learn how to adjust an amp's gain. To blow a W7 with that amp? You have to be WAY tuned wrong.
Re-reading... You have two woofers, wired to 2 ohms each? And connected to one amp? THAT'S A MONO AMP... ONE CHANNEL. You are loading it to 1 ohm, dude, NOT 2 ohms.. No WONDER it's shutting off. Wire the (apparently dual 4 ohm voice coil - I have to assume this, as you didn't provide exact model numbers for the woofers in use) woofers to 8 ohms each, THEN connect 'em. That's a 4 ohm load, and perfect for the amp.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
snotdobbs 
Copper - Posts: 148
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 11, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: May 17, 2008 at 4:46 PM / IP Logged  
there is also an input selection switch that may be improperly set. if you had it on the 0-1 volt input range that would definitely affect the amplifiers performance and could have probably caused some permanent damage to that w7 of yours. perhaps you need to change to the 1-8 volt input setting...
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,056
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: December 14, 2004
Location: Isle Of Man
Posted: May 17, 2008 at 9:29 PM / IP Logged  

Your PDX will give you max. power at either 2, or 4 ohm's (as Alpine states)

Spiz has spoken.... And he knows!

The model# of the subs would assist. dual 4, or dual 2 ohm v.c.?

abnormalbehavio 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: May 14, 2008
Location: Maryland, United States
Posted: May 21, 2008 at 8:07 AM / IP Logged  
that would make sense i didnt kno that as soon as it drops below 2ohms it shuts down. the subs are type s dual 4ohm i ran them in seperate because the amp has the two outputs
Alpine Guy 
Platinum - Posts: 2,478
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: October 18, 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: May 21, 2008 at 8:47 AM / IP Logged  
So wire each sub in series then to get 8 ohms per sub, then connect them both with their own plug, the result will be a 4 ohm final impedance.
2003 Chevy Avalanche,Eclipse CD7000,Morel Elate 5,Adire Extremis,Alpine PDX-4.150, 15" TC-3000, 2 Alpine PDX-1.1000, 470Amp HO Alt.
abnormalbehavio 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: May 14, 2008
Location: Maryland, United States
Posted: May 22, 2008 at 8:50 AM / IP Logged  

i want to get 2 kicker 12l7 subs should i get dual 2 or 4 ohm and do u think my pdx 1.1000 will power them fine? and what would be the best way to wire it?

Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, January 30, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer