icon

gps tracking on 04+ mercedes clk 430

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
visionsss 
Member - Posts: 19
Member spacespace
Posted: May 29, 2008 at 7:15 PM / IP Logged  

I have 7 years installation experience. I have done nearly all types of vehicles EXCEPT for some of the high ends like Mercedes and BMW. I have just recieved my first request for a Late Model Mercedes installation and I am not sure its a job I should take.

Basically its a GPS Tracking install. They are very simple: 12V Constant, True Ignition, Ground and a couple antennas. So normally I'm not even concerned with wireing diagrams being they are simple and I can usually get these at the Ignition Harness with my volt meter.

The difference in this is they would like to add a Starter Kill. While I have not recieved a vehicle year yet I understand that the Mercedes Ignitions are Multiplex so I will need to find my connections at the Fuse Panel or under the hood. In addition to this they would like a "Covert" installation which means I will need a good placement for the Antennas under the dash but near the surface not covered by metal. In many cases I end of having to remove a good portion of the dash sometimes including the gauge cluster or radio.

This is already starting to sound like a Nightmare but Im usually up for a challenge. Is there anything I should or could know about removing pannels or wireing that would help me on this?

I would like honest opinions. If you think its not worth it. Say so.

Thanks

Fred Kincaid
Visions Sound & Security
GPS Northwest
dwarren 
Platinum - Nominee - Posts: 1,811
Platinum - Nominee spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: May 29, 2008 at 10:57 PM / IP Logged  

When I do parrot kits on the newer Benz vehicles (E and C class) I am able to catch all of my wiring right below the front driver side rocker panel, 12volts, true ignition, ground, speakers although they don't apply here.