icon

blocking alternator wire noise?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,667
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: July 30, 2008 at 8:31 PM / IP Logged  

When you run out of things to try.  At least perform the test at the top of the following page.     http://bcae1.com/images/rca/temporaryrcashieldrepair.html

If there was actually 31 volts of AC coming out of your alternator, your radio and your vehicles ignition and computer systems would no longer be working.   Do you have access to another meter?

audiophyle_247 
Copper - Posts: 79
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 30, 2008 at 9:15 PM / IP Logged  
I have already done that.
I am an installer, & have been for quite some time now. I have already done everything I can think of to find this problem, and I did. (the alternator).
I have a device to measure EMI (electromagnetic interference), and have scoured my entire car with it.
Setting it right above my MSD ignition coil it reads 50 (50 db? What the number represents I dont really know). The coil emits a lot, but none of the wiring around it registers any EMI.
Now, scanning the amp power wire along the side of the car registers from 10 at the amp to 40 at the firewall while the care is at idle. Raising RPMs up the noise gets louder & the EMI numbers get even larger.   Scanning directly where the Alt wire connects to the fuse panel reads a 44 at idle (almost as much as the high performance ignition), but when I raise RPMs to 3k or so the number climbs to 70's & 80's.
The EMI reading is the absolute strongest at the Alt wire, and when disconnected I cannot find any places in my car to register over 5. The fuse panel reads 1 or 2 with Alt wire disconnected. Power wire also reads nothing when Alt wire is unhooked, and audio system is dead silent. Reattach Alt wire & the EMI readings jump back to where they were before & the horrible noise returns.