icon

does it matter what kind of primer paint

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
c4customs 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: October 01, 2008 at 3:22 PM / IP Logged  
{TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" UNABLE="on"}{T}{TR height="100%" UNABLE="on" width="100%"}{TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width="100%" background="" height=250 UNABLE="off"}hello i am newly registered and i have been looking for this que and have not found it anywhere. so forgive me if i overlooked it. i am new to fiberglassing and i have done all the interior of my car except the dash so far (window panels, rear window interior speaker panel, door panels, even custom box set up for the trunk), but what i need to know before i proceed with the painting is, does it matter what kind of primer paint i use before sanding it down and painting. i was thinking of car engine primer, because it is very thick and it can stand the heat during the summer. I live n tx, gets very hot here. as a matter of fact i was even thinking of doing the interior paint with the engine enamel paint. need comment b4 i proceed please comment. i will post pix when i figure out how 2.{/TD}{/TR}{TR UNABLE="on" hb_tag="1"}{TD style="FONT-SIZE: 1pt" height=1 UNABLE="on"}{DIV id=hotbar_promo}{/DIV}{/TD}{/TR}{/T}{/TABLE}{div style="width:240px;border-bottom:1px solid #eeeeee;margin-top:10px;margin-bottom:0px;"}{/div}{span style="font-size:.70em;line-height:1.2em;color:#000000;"}superman{/span}
jayson33 
Copper - Posts: 165
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 02, 2008 at 12:12 AM / IP Logged  

I dont think you will need engine primer unless it gets 300+ degs. In your car.What your looking for is any type

of high build auto primer will do you just fine. Do not get etching primer it is for bare metal. Your looking for a high build primer. This will fill in all you little sanding marks You will need about 3 coats. Then If you want