1998 jeep cherokee sport remote start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
lostinspace89 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Posted: October 23, 2008 at 11:31 PM / IP Logged  

Hi

I am installing an excalibur al-2000-edp into my 1998 Jeep cherokee sport with a 5 speed manual transmission. My question at this point is. Will I have to power up both ignition wires or just the primary ignition wire. The wiring diagram I was able to collect showed 2 ignition wires and and accessery wire. I have very little experience but I have installed one remote start in the past into a similar vehicle only it was a 1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport. I also was wondering why are there two ignition wires and only one on many other vehicles

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Mike

Long Island

brhaugen 
Copper - Posts: 275
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 24, 2008 at 6:23 AM / IP Logged  
My 2 of my wiring sources say yes, you need both ignition wires, the other one says you do not.
I would power both the blue and the BLACK/ orange to be safe.
I did a 1997 a couple of weeks ago and I know I powered both.
I powered both on my 98 Grand Cherokee when I did that install.
I do not know why Jeep started using two ignition wires.
In general, I presume is it because of the increased electronics in newer vehicles.
Brent Haugen
Fargo, ND
lostinspace89 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 24, 2008 at 6:41 AM / IP Logged  

HI

Thank you so much. Im wondering what would  happen if you only powered up the primary ignition. Would it actually crank and not start. I am going to power both of them up and now Ill have a question on wiring a relay for that output from the alarm

lostinspace89 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 24, 2008 at 11:39 PM / IP Logged