icon

2008 ford ranger, galaxy rs, ads-tb

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bigabe 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: December 07, 2008 at 8:09 PM / IP Logged  
Good day all, love the forums. Will contribute all I can after the amount of reading I've done.
Since this is long, heres the meat of this post:
As a total newb - how can I be sure this is PATS - other than attaching a relay seems to permanently ground it and doesn't let me start with a rapid-flashing anti-theft light? Even with key!
2nd newb question - I have no idea how to get my door locks to trigger with my new FOB. (I have factory RKE) I've tried a lot. My RS Manual
For starters (pun?), my starter is working so far...the usual, with a key in. I know this means my bypass isn't doing its job. Now, according to the XK04-PKFORD I originally bought, the 2007 had a 3C PATS system. Looking at the picture, it makes some sense. After several hours of trying to get my bypass to learn my key (1st key ->on, lights go off - repeat for 2nd, remote start, wait 2 minutes, then start) I tried almost every option and nothing ever happened with the LED, nor did it ever work without a key in the ignition.
So, I added the relay, as diagramed. Installed 4 times, just in case it was wiring/bad connections etc... and all that did was permanently set off PATS/Anti-theft light so I couldn't program/start or anything. Seemed like the relay wasn't throwing.
Anyways, I got upset, put my truck back together, called some shops and bought an idatalink ADS-TB today and had it flashed for my truck.