icon

digital interface/protocols?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
loneranger 
Copper - Posts: 572
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 03, 2009 at 7:49 PM / IP Logged  

I'm new to the CAN scene. I was a proffesional mobile technician for ~10 years up until ~1995. I would now consider my self a semi-professional, since I've been away from the industry for so long. Back then, it was pretty much all analog(w2w). However, I would like some knowledge about the interface/protocols that are being used by the aftermarket alarm manufacturers, for communication between their products and others. What are the different interface/protocols being used and what are their names? What are their compatibilties with other manufacturers interface/protocols and any issues? I've tried to do as much specific research on my own(2 weeks) but, there isn't much that I've found. If you want to be either very technical or completely vague, I'm ok with that. I know some techs hold onto their knowledge like a patent and won't license it. digital interface/protocols? -- posted image. I never did that. My brief encounter here in the forums lends me to believe the vast majority of techs here don't either. Otherwise, why would they be here. If you just want to point me to links, I'm fine with that too. I've probably already read them though. digital interface/protocols? -- posted image. Give it a shot anyway. if you feel the need.