icon

are your headlights legal?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bigjohnny 
Copper - Posts: 293
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 07, 2009 at 5:44 PM / IP Logged  
I post this, in hopes of educating the masses about HID lighting. I'm no professional, but I'm so god damn sick of being blinded by other drivers who simply don't know better.
In my everyday driving I see A LOT of people who have HID kits installed in their cars, but aren't aware that the lights they are running are illegal.
When installed incorrectly, the light from HIDs is not focused properly, this causes the lights from your car to be diffused all over the place namely into the eyes of oncoming traffic.
I speak from experience having almost been in 3 accidents due to being blinded by someones aftermarket HID kit.
The worst part is, most of the people buying these lights and kits have no idea that there lights are illegal.
If you are running these lights, and get into an accident with someone, YOU will be held at fault for having illegal lights on your car (This really only applies to head on type collisions).
These types of headlights MUST have a projector to properly focus the light where it's SUPPOSED to go. Halogen projectors are also INCORRECT for this type of application. you MUSt use a proper HID projector.
Here are some resources for people/installers who want HID lights, and;
1.) Don't want to endanger the lives of others or themselves
2.) Don't want to be at fault for an accident because they didn't know better.
HID Planet Forums - An exceelent resource and discussion board for learning more about HID lighting and PROPER retrofitting. Tons of info about how to actually do retrofits etc.
YouTube video explaining illegal HIDs. Yes the video may not directly apply to your state laws, but the facts are still the same.
The pictures below show how your beam pattern with HIDs properly installed should look. (These are borrwed from hidplanet, but not hotlinked.)