icon

Can't get alarm to go into Program Mode

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
DeathsJester12V 
Silver - Posts: 352
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 20, 2003 at 12:37 PM / IP Logged  
Yup it's me again. Still having problems with that blasted Sidewinder 6500ESP. Got it all installed, and all works fine, except, I can't program the remote start. I need a longer cranking time.
Now I'm no newbie to the Sidewinder Line of Alarms. But this one is being a nightmare, and definately no stranger to tagging wires for alarms...( even though on this car, I feel like a newbie. ) I didn't bother with the wiring diagram in the end, I just used a DMM and tested all my wires, for what I needed. ( which is probably why it took me 8 hours, TOO MANY WIRES IN THE DRIVERS KICK ).
Ok. here's what I do to enter Program mode.
1) Open Door
2) turn ignition on, Than off
3) press and hold the valet/program switch.
4) wait for chirps
no matter how long I've held and waited no chirps...
now I tested the valet switch, by putting the car into valet. Switch is fine...what's up...Did I actually tag a wrong wire...or is this thing being Amish...
Bnluis 
Silver - Posts: 578
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 20, 2003 at 3:11 PM / IP Logged  
yes, make sure that you have the right door trigger wire.
Luis
Sound Waves
Is up to the installer to test all wires with a DMM whenever possible.
iskidoo 
Silver - Posts: 1,040
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: March 20, 2003 at 4:40 PM / IP Logged  
Also, make certain that if you have more than one ignition wire that the proper wire from the unit is connected to the main ignition wire (listed Ignition 1) and not to Ignition 2.
DeathsJester12V 
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 20, 2003 at 5:50 PM / IP Logged