the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

adjustable dc power supply


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bigblue06 
Member - Posts: 35
Member spacespace
Joined: February 18, 2009
Location: Tennessee, United States
Posted: March 26, 2009 at 3:40 PM / IP Logged  
I'm looking for a site or distributor that I can buy adjustable dc power supplys for KVH tracvisions. I can get standard 12volt power supplies all day long. But I need some that I can adjust the power up to around 18 volts for the over 50 ft runs. Anybody know of any? I saw one a while back but I didn't think to write the brand or model down.  Thanks in advance guys
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,491
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: March 26, 2009 at 5:42 PM / IP Logged  
You really need to use larger wire.  When the unit is not tracking, there will be very little current draw.  No current draw = 18 volts getting to the electronics of the receiver = not a pretty sight.
bigblue06 
Member - Posts: 35
Member spacespace
Joined: February 18, 2009
Location: Tennessee, United States
Posted: March 30, 2009 at 4:47 PM / IP Logged  

It is shut off when it isn't tracking. It has a toggle switch. They are set up that they lock in place once it is locked on a satellite, then cut power and it wont move...

I understand what your saying, but the wire gauge isn't the issue. I just need an adjustable power supply.

i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,491
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: March 30, 2009 at 5:38 PM / IP Logged  

We sell tracvision and I have not seen an application where we needed 18 volts. 

bigblue06 
Member - Posts: 35
Member spacespace
Joined: February 18, 2009
Location: Tennessee, United States
Posted: March 31, 2009 at 8:51 AM / IP Logged  
I dont need 18 volts..It needs about 15-16. But i've never seen one that is adjustable from 12-16, so I figured I'd ask if anyone knew where I could find a product that I have seen instead of sending you on a wild goose chase.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,491
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: March 31, 2009 at 9:56 AM / IP Logged  
Astron makes adjustable supplies.  The one on my bench is adjustable up to 15.
bigblue06 
Member - Posts: 35
Member spacespace
Joined: February 18, 2009
Location: Tennessee, United States
Posted: March 31, 2009 at 2:10 PM / IP Logged  
Thank  you
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,491
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: April 01, 2009 at 6:05 AM / IP Logged  
http://www.astroncorp.com/showpage.asp?p=2     VS-50M  First item on this page   The VS-35M is the 35 amp version with the same voltage capabilities.  It will be much more economical for your application.  It is at the bottom of the page.
KPierson 
Platinum - Posts: 3,526
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: April 14, 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: April 01, 2009 at 6:53 AM / IP Logged  

Astron is probably overkill for your application - the make great power supplies but they aren't exaactly cheap.

How much current do you need?

Finding 14.4vdc power supplies should be releatively easy as well, would the extra 2.4 volts help?

It also isn't too hard to make power supplies - you basically just need a transformer, a voltage regulator, 4 diodes, and a few caps.  The complexity rises though with the amount of current needed.

Pyramid makes decent power supplies - nowhere near as nice as the Astron units, but much more affordable.

Kevin Pierson
bigblue06 
Member - Posts: 35
Member spacespace
Joined: February 18, 2009
Location: Tennessee, United States
Posted: April 02, 2009 at 9:57 AM / IP Logged  
I looked at pyramid a while back...I can't remember if they made adjustable ones or not..
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Thursday, January 20, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer