the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

ports


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dp85iroc 
Member - Posts: 40
Member spacespace
Joined: June 19, 2009
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 8:55 AM / IP Logged  

so quick question that is probably dumb but i just wanted to know it....

if i have a ported box and the length of the ports is an issue can you basically have 2 ports and ADD there lengths together for tuning the box?

basically heres my issue i wanted a 4" port dia. and needed it to be at 8" long to be tuned to where i want it but i dont have 8" where i need to put it so i was thinking i could get 2 4" long ones and it be the same thing as onr 8" one?

hmmm...thinking is always good...but question are better
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 9:51 AM / IP Logged  
No, sorry it doesn't work like that.  Using more than one port means each one would be longer for the same tuning.  You can't make an 8" long port fit?  That is really short.  What are the dimensions of your enclosure plan?
Support the12volt.com
dp85iroc 
Member - Posts: 40
Member spacespace
Joined: June 19, 2009
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 10:29 AM / IP Logged  

d*** well that puts a damper on my doodie lol i guess i'll just have to go with a higher tuning?ports -- posted image.

and ya it was just how i had it set up i mean i could make it fit its just i kinda made my own box and i'm not very good at making the cuts so i just made everything really square lol and it sits in the back of my camaro....third generation i-roc z and i kinda wanted it to look all good and lined up its really tight on space back there...but i managed to get 1.5 ft^3

idk what should i do?

hmmm...thinking is always good...but question are better
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 1:37 PM / IP Logged  
Post a drawing of your enclosure design.
Support the12volt.com
dp85iroc 
Member - Posts: 40
Member spacespace
Joined: June 19, 2009
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 2:44 PM / IP Logged  
ports -- posted image.
hmmm...thinking is always good...but question are better
dp85iroc 
Member - Posts: 40
Member spacespace
Joined: June 19, 2009
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 2:45 PM / IP Logged  
this is what i made...i couldnt put the sub i had in the center cuz it wasnt a large enough space
hmmm...thinking is always good...but question are better
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 2:49 PM / IP Logged  
OK... well it looks like you have ports in there now?
Support the12volt.com
dp85iroc 
Member - Posts: 40
Member spacespace
Joined: June 19, 2009
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 3:22 PM / IP Logged  
yes but they are only 4" long and to get to a lower fequency i thought maybe having 2 at 4" would be like having one 8" one....ya kno
hmmm...thinking is always good...but question are better
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 3:43 PM / IP Logged  
If you have 2 X 4" ports @ 4" long in a 1.5cuft enclosure, you are tuned to about 80Hz.  Not good.  If you block one of them you're at about 57 Hz.  Still not good, but better.  What you really want is 1 X 4" port @ 12" long, which will tune you to about 38Hz.  Remove the one closest to the speaker and block it.  Then build a bent port from the last one toward the woofer and you should be able to get close to 12".  Or don't port it at all, and you'll probably end up with better performance.  Just pull them both and seal the enclosure.
Support the12volt.com
dp85iroc 
Member - Posts: 40
Member spacespace
Joined: June 19, 2009
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posted: July 30, 2009 at 4:00 PM / IP Logged  

oh doodie i had no idea....wow so the best bet would be to not port it at all....i always thought that having a vented enclosure was better for the sub...like less work on it?

but i mean thank you so much for the help

hmmm...thinking is always good...but question are better
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer