icon

new system, novice installer

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dertitan2 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: October 03, 2009 at 11:29 AM / IP Logged  

Please be kind, this is my first post, I am very new to audio installation, and this site has been a huge help!

Here is the system I have planned, I would like some feeback.

Pontiac 2009 Vibe 1.8L, Stock Head Unit with XM, JL Audio Cleansweep, JL 12W6v2 Sub in Sealed Power Wedge JL Box, Alpine PDX 1.600 for Sub, Alpine PDS 4.100 for Fronts, Alpine SPX-13 Pro Components, Dynamat Extreme for front two doors, rear door speakers will remain stock and connected to head unit, using twisted pair RCA cables, and 12 guage wire for speakers connections.

I am looking for a Sound Quanlity system, so any recommendations on plan, installation, changes, etc.. would be appreciated.

icearrow6 
Copper - Posts: 497
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 03, 2009 at 12:19 PM / IP Logged  
When you are investing that much into the car, why not a GOOD headunit? If you want to keep the stock HU, then you are going to have to use a line-out converter...so for a name brand line out....spend the extra bucks and replace that headunit. You will not regret it, if its sound Quality you are after.
blackcivichatch 
Copper - Posts: 229
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 03, 2009 at 3:51 PM / IP Logged  
I agree with Icearrow. Adding an after market HU would be wise. You would can get more features and more control of all that expensive equipment you're throwing in there.
UNLABELED Custom Car Club President
aznboi3644 
Gold - Posts: 2,600
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 04, 2009 at 4:02 PM / IP Logged  
factory units are usually the weakest link to a good sounding system
Custom Enclosure Design
dertitan2 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2009 at 9:15 AM / IP Logged  

First, thank you all for your comments.