on cel after remote start, 2002 civic ex

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
blu_olr 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: November 08, 2009 at 1:54 PM / IP Logged  

Hi all,

Right off the bat, My name is Orin, I'm emergency vehicle technician (electrician) for peel region in Ontario, Canada. Prior to this i was an installer for about 6 years (4 year at best buy, and 2 years at a local stereo shop) So i'm not much of a newbie.

I have a friend at another local audio shop call me regarding a remote starter install on a 2002 Honda EX, Automatic transmission. He is also no newb, he has owned his shop for about 9 years and going strong, and has installed probably 10000s+, so my confidence in his knownledge is very high. He installed a NuStart unit in he sells and installs himself regularly. So basically he installed the unit, along with a fortin honda bypass (ifar.ca) and everything is good, he test it, works fines; customer picks it up, takes it home, and call back the next day regarding a check engine light. My buddy assures him its nothing but still gets it scan for him (at minium) and he clears the code.

the code was:

P1705: Short in Transmission Range Switch Circuit (More than one range position is on at the

same time)

apparently honda claims that aftermarket alarms/starters cause this problem because of us installer tapping into the starter cut relay circuit, I never heard of this ever. In fact my buddy even call a tech line for fortin and NuStart, and the techs all laughed, because it was a honda civic...the easiest and most popular car out there.

If anyone has any info please let me know asap. I searched so many times and i have resorted to this. please help.

Orin R.

bLu
blu_olr 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: November 08, 2009 at 1:55 PM / IP Logged  
sorry just re read my post, 2002 Honda Civic EX
bLu
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: November 08, 2009 at 2:13 PM / IP Logged