icon

remote starter wiring, 1994 mercury sable

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bigpoppa69 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: November 13, 2009 at 10:43 PM / IP Logged  
Hi, i work in home construction and remodeling and have lots of electrical experience. However, I have never done any wiring on a car before. I am going to attempt to set up a remote starter for my car but i just have some confusion about the "control module." I am going to tell u what i am planning to do and please tell me if i'm wrong. I know there is a positive 12 volt wire coming from the battery to the ignition switch. I want to cut this at some place under the dash and attach it to my control module right? But obviously since I cut a wire, it splits it into 2 wires. I wanna connect the battery side with the positive 12 volts to the control module, but what about the other side that connects to the ignition switch? This same question goes for all the wires pretty much. For example, I find the starter, ignition, accessory, brake, and trunk wires, then I am supposed to just split them and connect one of the 2 wires from the split to the control module? or both? i hope u can understand my question basically i have a wire from the control module and 2 wires (from the split), thats 3 wires total from each starter, ignition, etc connection, and don't understand which to connect. Will wires become inactive or pointless basically?
mikvot 
Gold - Posts: 1,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 13, 2009 at 11:42 PM / IP Logged  

Ok.....year/make/model would help...and what kind of system. I know you want general info, but all of this info helps us greatly. In most cases, there is no reason to "cut" any wire in the vehicle, except the starter wire if you are during a security system, or antigrind relay.

bigpoppa69 
Member spacespace
Posted: November 14, 2009 at 12:08 AM / IP Logged