the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

can't figure out port


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
armymp90099 
Copper - Posts: 76
Copper spacespace
Joined: July 05, 2009
Location: Illinois, United States
Posted: December 13, 2009 at 9:04 PM / IP Logged  
Ok this may be a newb question but say I want to have 2 ports in one chamber of a box. If I use 2 inch ports would that count as 1 4 inch port or still just a 2 inch port but add the lengths of each port. Sorry if this is simple but I'm stuck.
-ETS-
Escape The Scilence
j.reed 
Copper - Posts: 716
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 05, 2009
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: December 13, 2009 at 9:20 PM / IP Logged  
Two 2" inch ports would be like having one 4" port. It will increase you port area.
FYI, if using the port calculator on the site. Make sure you are using NET volume to figure tune. Take outside dimensions to figure your GROSS. Then subtract port volume, driver displacement and bracing to find your NET airspace.
If you need help to get the right goal of tune and volume. Just hit me up. I can walk you through it in more detail if you need it.
can't figure out port -- posted image.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,597
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 13, 2009 at 9:22 PM / IP Logged  
It will take (4) 2 inch ports to equal (1) 4 inch port.   Formula for area of a circle is Pie X (Radius squared)  2 inch circle = 1 x 1 x 3,14159 = 3.14159    4 inch circle = 2 x 2 x 3.14159  = 12,56
j.reed 
Copper - Posts: 716
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 05, 2009
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: December 13, 2009 at 9:25 PM / IP Logged  
i am an idiot wrote:
It will take (4) 2 inch ports to equal (1) 4 inch port.   Formula for area of a circle is Pie X (Radius squared)  2 inch circle = 1 x 1 x 3,14159 = 3.14159    4 inch circle = 2 x 2 x 3.14159  = 12,56
Good catch "i am". That is indeed correct. Two 2" ports would be closer to a 3" port.
can't figure out port -- posted image.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,597
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 13, 2009 at 9:36 PM / IP Logged  

No catch i was typing when you posted.  I had no idea you had posted.

j.reed 
Copper - Posts: 716
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 05, 2009
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: December 13, 2009 at 9:40 PM / IP Logged  
i am an idiot wrote:

No catch i was typing when you posted.  I had no idea you had posted.

In that case you should have just played it off as you had can't figure out port -- posted image. I would have lol
can't figure out port -- posted image.
armymp90099 
Copper - Posts: 76
Copper spacespace
Joined: July 05, 2009
Location: Illinois, United States
Posted: December 14, 2009 at 1:50 AM / IP Logged  
ok thanks guys. I dont need it to be dead on balls accurate as this will be my daily driver box not competition. Ill calculate it as a 3 inch port. Then all i need to do is buy the DC LVL4 XL to go in it and ill be a very happy man. :)
-ETS-
Escape The Scilence
j.reed 
Copper - Posts: 716
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 05, 2009
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: December 14, 2009 at 2:41 AM / IP Logged  
You will want more port area then that for a DC lvl 4 XL. You will want to build a slot port box. What size sub is it going to be?
can't figure out port -- posted image.
armymp90099 
Copper - Posts: 76
Copper spacespace
Joined: July 05, 2009
Location: Illinois, United States
Posted: December 14, 2009 at 9:20 PM / IP Logged  
Ok Well I was originally going to go with a 12 but now im leaning toward the 15. Below is a sketchup rendering of the box tuned to 35Hz. The overall size is 38W x 10H x 20D Which gave me a net volume of about 3 FT^3. The Port is 6.25W x 8.5H giving me enough port area given 16 IN^2 per 1 cubic foot. The front is cutout so you can see the port inside.
can't figure out port -- posted image.
-ETS-
Escape The Scilence
j.reed 
Copper - Posts: 716
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 05, 2009
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: December 14, 2009 at 10:07 PM / IP Logged  
Its late now So i cant call, but i would send DC an email asking there recommendation for port area per cubic foot. That port area seems to be too small to me.
can't figure out port -- posted image.
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, November 27, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer