the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

system out after hitting a speed bump


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
spmpdr 
Copper - Posts: 456
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 22, 2009
Location: Oregon, United States
Posted: June 05, 2010 at 8:22 PM / IP Logged  
Today i was pulling out of the parking lot at my work and just turned on my stereo ,everything was fine system played like normal then i went over a speed bump and everything but the h/u lost power!!! Where do i start trouble shooting this I looked over all the power and ground wires to the amps and they are fine.
heres my eqiupment:
h/u: kenwood kdc x993
arc audio eqx/idx crossover and equalizer
re audio 1600.2v2 sub amp
re audio 1600.4v2 mids amp
ppi275 tweets amp
(2) re audio sr 12's
(2) xtant 4" mids
(2) xtant 1.5" tweets
(2) mpyre 6.5" mids
everything is ran at 4ohms,no protection lights are on and there is no power to anything but the h/u
-A vision without a plan is just a hallucination-
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,423
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: June 05, 2010 at 8:46 PM / IP Logged  

If you have one power wire that powers both amps, I would look at that wire and it's fuses.   Check the remote wire too.

You may need to use a volt meter to determine what is missing from the amps.

nismo542 
Copper - Posts: 62
Copper spacespace
Joined: June 04, 2010
Location: South Carolina, United States
Posted: June 05, 2010 at 9:41 PM / IP Logged  

i would start at the battery and check all fuses.  also check your ground an make sure it is still connected to the chassis.

spmpdr 
Copper - Posts: 456
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 22, 2009
Location: Oregon, United States
Posted: June 06, 2010 at 9:16 AM / IP Logged  
i am an idiot wrote:

If you have one power wire that powers both amps, I would look at that wire and it's fuses.   Check the remote wire too.

You may need to use a volt meter to determine what is missing from the amps.

Its actually three amps, There is one power wire that is daisy chained I checkd the power and grounds visually but not with a dmm.Im thinking since the h/u has power but everything else doesnt that it has to be the remote wire shorted or grounded somewhere.I do have a dmm but im not sure i know how to use it correctly,is there a tutorial on using one anywhere?I dont know the settings that the dmm needs to be on or what the dmm should be reading.
-A vision without a plan is just a hallucination-
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,423
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: June 06, 2010 at 9:50 AM / IP Logged  

Can you find the setting for checking DC Voltage?  It iwll either read DCV, or V with a solid line above a dashed line.  If it has multiple choices under that setting, set it to 20.  Touch and hold the black lead to the ground terminal of your battery, then touch the red lead to the positive terminal of your battery, it should read between 11.5 and 12.5 without the engine running.

spmpdr 
Copper - Posts: 456
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 22, 2009
Location: Oregon, United States
Posted: June 06, 2010 at 10:39 AM / IP Logged  
I think i found the problem ,to test the remote wire I jumped it from a hot line and everything started working againsystem out after hitting a speed bump -- posted image.,so what is the proper way to run a remote wire for this setup?Right now they are all daisy chained together off the h/u i believe.Thanks for the info on how to use the dmm by the way "i am "
-A vision without a plan is just a hallucination-
spmpdr 
Copper - Posts: 456
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 22, 2009
Location: Oregon, United States
Posted: June 06, 2010 at 5:19 PM / IP Logged  
Alright so after testing with the dmm at first i got a reading of .40 with the truck on and the system came back on. I put the truck back together and closed my passenger side door and the system went back offf!!! I took the truck back apart and test the remote line again with the truck on and got a reading at the back of the h/u of .10 .Could my h/u be defective or do i need to test something else?I didnt think to locate where the remote wire gets it power source from is it from the h/u or an ignition wire or a 12volt constant or somethiing like an ignition wire .I didnt see anywhere where the line went to something other than one of my stereo components.
-A vision without a plan is just a hallucination-
bloob 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Joined: June 09, 2010
Posted: June 10, 2010 at 6:08 PM / IP Logged  
your remote wire should be connected to the factory car /HU harness. it's usually solid blue if i recall.
things to look at:
possible your remote wire got bared somewhere in between your HU and your amps and now it's grounding out. this somes to mind because you mentioned when you shut your passenger door the system went off again. it's possible your remote wire runs under the door trim along the passenger side?
also possible you need to check your rca's. they sometimes slip free from over used ports on amps.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, September 20, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer