icon

simple diy video/audio switch

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
pneffkell 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: September 07, 2010 at 6:41 PM / IP Logged  

I did a search and found a brief mention of using relays and diodes as a a/v switch

I am new to all of this so I need a drawing of how to build a simple audio video switch.

I have two monitors and two sources - a dvd player and sirius backseat tv. I want a manual switch for each monitor that switched between the two sources. Yes I know they make cheap remote controlled units. I already will have two remotes. 1 for the backseat tv and 1 for the dvd. I don't want to add more.

Someone help would be appreciated. Plus I would even pay someone to build this for me.

Thanks

afdanw 
Copper - Posts: 74
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 16, 2010 at 12:24 PM / IP Logged  
Hey, i have a diagram of how to make a vid switch with just relays on my home computer.  I am at work right now, but send me a Private message and remind me to send you te diagram.  When i get home, check my e-mail, and get your reminder; i will send you the diagram.  I have never used the relay video switcher, so i cannot say for sure how well it works, but there is no reason it should not be good.  For your set up you would have to make 2 of them, one for each screen.  Also you would have to duplicate it again for audio switching.  My diagram is 4 relays per switch.  If you want to swith the audio with the video, and you want the screens to watch seperate video/audio sources, will need a total fo 16 relays. 
If your cousin is such a good installer, and he will install anything for a 6 pack; why are you talking to me?
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,670
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 17, 2010 at 5:10 AM / IP Logged