icon

viper 5701, 2002 dodge ram

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
cdc54 
Member - Posts: 10
Member spacespace
Posted: January 06, 2011 at 9:17 AM / IP Logged  
RELAY ISOLATE GROUND W/320 OHM RESISTOR.
I'm new to this stuff and installing a Viper 5701 in a quad cab 2002 Dodge Ram.
t&t tech 
Platinum - Posts: 2,608
Platinum spacespace
Posted: January 06, 2011 at 4:34 PM / IP Logged  
Is this for your lock or unlock circuit?
cdc54 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 06, 2011 at 8:03 PM / IP Logged  
No it listed that way for the parking lights. I found the wiring on this forum.
t&t tech 
Platinum - Posts: 2,608
Platinum spacespace
Posted: January 07, 2011 at 7:27 PM / IP Logged  

You would have to use a relay to interrupt the wire, but your 5701 already has a wire for this, cut the parking light wire in half and connect the WHITE/ brown to the side from the stalk and the other side to the white wire from the H1 harness with the resistor inline.

cdc54 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2011 at 9:15 AM / IP Logged  
I did this yesterday and while installing I could never get the
Headlights to come back on. Not sure why yet.
cdc54 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 10, 2011 at 8:35 AM / IP Logged  
I have just tried to install this on my 2002 Dodge Ram. I check the wires and they all seemed to be hooked up correct. I know that the yellow starter wire was cut and hooked up to the green and purple from the unit correct. But after everything was hooked up I still couldn't get the truck to start with the key. Almost it's like the unit needs to be programmed. Is this the case for all car alarms ? Do they work right out of the box or do they have to be set per each vehicle ?
Also I followed the instructions I had found for the door locks and I think I'm supposed to have a relay because from what I can tell the unit is sending out a positive impulse and the truck needs to receive a negative.