icon

01 olds alero, remote start, bypass

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
calhouncm 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2011 at 1:24 PM / IP Logged  
Hello, I am rather new to remote start installations. 2001 Oldsmobile Alero. I have a Crimestopper RS-7 remote start unit and a Fortin INT-SL+ bypass. Without the bypass connected I can start the vehicle and then it shuts off as it would without a bypass connected. With the bypass connected it still shuts off. I am not sure that I have bypass wired correctly. According to installation information for the bypass the only required hookups is a purple wire that goes to my vehicles pin 2 of the OBD2 connector which I have hooked up. The second wire off the bypass is a pink wire that goes to "ignition" according to the installation data. Right now I have that connected to the Pink wire off the ignition switch harness that has +12V. Is there possibly a different ignition wire they are talking about that I should have this connected to?
When I try to go through the programming steps the bypass doesn't seem to program. The steps I am following are first to hold the programming button down. Then plug in connector 1(databus link) this gives the bypass power and the led lights up steady, next I connect connector 2, then I put the key in and turn to ignition. The LED is supposed to flash rapidly which does not happen.
Any suggestions or assistance would be appreciated.
Thank you
calhouncm 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2011 at 3:07 PM / IP Logged