the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

so confused about fusing battery to amp

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
radarcontact 
Copper - Posts: 54
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 16, 2011 at 10:39 PM / IP Logged  
I wasn't confused at all, until I did a search and read the masters' replies. Now I've been searching a reading for the last two hours...I just need an answer at this point.
Here's what I (now) understand: Since I have chosen to use 4 gauge wire to run my Massive Audio NX5 and JBL MS-8 combo, I (now) know that I will put a fuse on the battery to amp/distro block not to exceed 150A to protect the wire and vehicle. The MA NX5 does not come with a fuse, but rather a "protection circuit" inside the unit. I have figured the most it will draw, in watts, is 1360w. Now, I think that I multiply that number by 60% (?why), then divide by 14.4, which gives me ~ 56A. This seems way too low to me, so my math is probably junk. But let's say it is...using that plus the 25W fuse that's in the MS-8 as my additional info, I would add those together to get ~ 80A fuse.
Ok, that's all fine and good, but here's where nothing makes sense to me, please explain:
1) the fuse is there to protect the wire, not the equipment; I've read this multiple times (and adamently stated, I might add!). So why do equipment manuals always say to put an xx sized fuse on the line (within 18" of the battery, etc.)? The manual doesn't know what size wire I'm using, and usually doesn't recommend one. My MS-8 says to throw a 25w fuse on it...the same as the equipment uses.