icon

viper 5101 in 2006 pontiac g6

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tealtuna 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: November 23, 2011 at 11:49 AM / IP Logged  
I have unfortunately decided to do my first remote start/keyless install on my girlfriend's 2006 Pontiac G6 Sedan (base base base model).
I am a mechanical engineer who thinks he can get into these types of projects without trouble but I am finding this car much more difficult than the older cars I have worked on...but enough about me.
The car had a Viper keyless entry installed in it previously, which I thought great, I'll get a remote start/keyless to replace the old unit (which had stopped working reliably).. This did help me tap into a number of wires such as the trunk, grounds, +12V, door lock easily since I just cut the wires and attached the new harness. The problems I am having are both:
1) The keyless entry only locks the doors, does not unlock. I kept the previously installed 1.5kOhm resistor in line and it is still not working. However, after I snipped the wires and re-installed the resistor (wrapped in electrical tape), it is possible they have included a diode and I may have it facing the wrong direction... When I lock/unlock I measured a (+) signal and a (-) signal... however I need a (-) signal for both lock and unlock... Is there another method here that I am missing?