the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2008 Dodge Ram 1500 W/Infinity Amp Turn On Lead?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
ahoffoss 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Joined: February 22, 2012
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 29, 2012 at 5:17 PM / IP Logged  
I have been working on installing a Pioneer AVH-3300BT into my gf's 2008 Dodge Ram 1500. It has the infinity sound system. Every diagram I've seen is completely different from what is on the harnesses of the truck. When I removed the factory radio, there were two separate harnesses. One small, one large. I have located the constant, Ground, and have already run a switched 12V but still haven't been able to get sound. I'm searching for the "amp on" line, and because I haven't been able to properly locate that, I have yet to figure out which wires go to what speakers. Am I the only one with this problem? ANY help would be very much appreciated! Thanks.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,470
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 29, 2012 at 5:57 PM / IP Logged  
The amplifier requires a data turn on signal. You will have to purchase the appropriate wiring harness, or the appropriate amp bypass harness.
http://metraonline.com/part/CHTO-01    The amp bypass harness is either a 70-6504 or a 70-6514
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,470
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 29, 2012 at 6:03 PM / IP Logged  
http://www.pac-audio.com/productDetails.aspx?Productid=407&CategoryID=26
ahoffoss 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Joined: February 22, 2012
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 29, 2012 at 6:09 PM / IP Logged  
Very much appreciated! I'm gonna go ahead and put one on order and see how things go. Again,...thanks for the quick reply!
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,470
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 29, 2012 at 7:35 PM / IP Logged  
General rule of thumb for newer Chrysler products is, if there are tweeters in the dash, you need the data harness.
ahoffoss 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Joined: February 22, 2012
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 29, 2012 at 10:19 PM / IP Logged  
While we're on the subject, which wire is the "reverse" line? I'm hooking up a rear view cam. Thanks again for all the help!
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,470
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 29, 2012 at 10:36 PM / IP Logged  
Reverse Lights WHITE/ LIGHT GREEN (+) IN HARNESS UNDER HOOD ON DRIVER FENDER
Or, since you have to run a wire from the camera to the deck, you can also catch it at the bulb itself.
ahoffoss 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Joined: February 22, 2012
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: September 02, 2012 at 3:27 PM / IP Logged  
I'm just now getting back around to installing this radio. I got the correct harness in now, however, I'm STILL not getting audio. It says in the diagram that if the vehicle is equipped with a factory amplifier (which I'm assuming it is with the infinity sound) that I should "connect the front outputs of the aftermarket radio to the rear inputs of the 22 pin radio connector. I'm confused?!
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,470
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: September 02, 2012 at 4:03 PM / IP Logged  
The harness uses the rear inputs to provide audio to the vehicle. If your deck is a Bluetooth deck, the hands free info is only sent to the front channels. If you connect rear to rear, you will not hear the bluetooth hands free.
Did you connect the radio's remote wire to the remote wire of the harness?
ahoffoss 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Joined: February 22, 2012
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: September 02, 2012 at 4:36 PM / IP Logged  
I connected everything as it states on the connection chart. However, I did not connect the front outputs to the rear inputs. I connected everything color by color. I'm going to now try the rear inputs. Am I supposed to connect both the front AND the rear outputs to the rear inputs? I'm probably making this out harder to be than it really is, but this is my first experience with this type of radio. Thanks for your help! It's VERY much appreciated!
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, December 5, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer