icon

2006 ford f250 v10 remote start install

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
a.beam.reach 
Member - Posts: 19
Member spacespace
Posted: October 25, 2012 at 4:32 PM / IP Logged  
I have installed a couple remote starts before, though I am not an expert!
I am going install an Ultra Start AST U1272-XR PRO on my 2006 Ford F250 V10 gas, auto truck. Looking at the wiring diagram found here, 2006 F250 Wiring Diagram , it appears to be a pretty straight forward install. My truck keys do not have the chip in the key so no bypass module necessary. A couple quick questions:
1.)   Because I have the factory keyless entry system, the diagram indicates I have a type B door locking system. With a quick search on the internet I gather a type b system is negative. Is this correct? If so, the instructions on the U1272 give two options for wiring. One without any relays and one with relays shown here: 2006 ford f250 v10 remote start install -- posted image.
Which way must I wire it? Obviously, I would rather not have to use relays if not necessary.
2.) My truck shows that I need to power two (2) ignition circuits and two (2) accessory circuits. The U1272 has one (1) ignition wire, one (1) selectable output wire which I will use for the second ignition circuit, and one (1) accessory wire. I need a second accessory wire. Is this the correct relay wiring to obtain a second wire:
Pin 87 to +12v constant thru 20 amp fuse.
Pin 86 to U1272 ACC1 output Green ( that is also connected to the trucks ACC1 wire at ignition harness).
Pin 30 to trucks ACC2 wire at ignition switch harness.
Pin 85 to U1272 GWR WHITE/ Violet wire
Thanks in advance for any help!
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,783