icon

custom led rings behind shroud?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
kazp3rr 
Member - Posts: 38
Member spacespace
Posted: October 31, 2012 at 6:24 PM / IP Logged  
working on my home made version of the "terminator eyes" for my retrofit install...been talking to a few guys over at hidplanet about it, wanted to clear up a few tech specifics before I start.
in my shroud, there are 8 holes where light can be seen from the front, I can't get solid ccfl rings or any led tubing inside because of the design, so I'm securing individual led's behind each hole.
my question, which wiring array would be best?
as of right now I have white led's
3.3v
25ma
with a supply voltage of 12v running 8 led's...would a single series array be best? or a combination series/parallel work better?
a little help in this area would be great, I'm a bit new to the led scene...thanks guys
kazp3rr 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 31, 2012 at 10:28 PM / IP Logged  
a buddy of mine gave me a hand...
8 led's
3.4v
25ma
4 parrallel circuits with each having 2 led's in series, with 220 ohm resisitors. 5% over what's recommended, but I would rather them be slightly less bright than burning out prematurely.
got a few bench wire pics...input and opinions are welcome (:
https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/292711_10100924528409569_1012729540_n.jpg
https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/552246_10100924519043339_125655405_n.jpg
https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-snc7/431701_10100924515909619_361198969_n.jpg
the led rings I bought were 90mm and didn't quite fit for my project, so I'm gonna sale them or whatever I figure out to do with them, if you're interested, pm me lol
the shroud with the led's inside is going over my quad-bi xenon retrofit for my trailblazer, should turn out quite nice after everything is done
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: November 01, 2012 at 5:57 PM / IP Logged  
Where did you get the lens from?