troubleshooting alarm, remote start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
airwolf_durango 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 06, 2013 at 9:19 PM / IP Logged  

Hi all,

I’m new here and new to installing remote starter/alarms. I bought an Air Wolf #20099 made by DesignTech  (I think) back in 2004 and just now got around to installing it for various reasons.
DesignTech doesn’t show up in my searches on the internet so asking them for tech support doesn’t seem to be an option. Did they get bought out?
Anyways, I am a novice with a background in circuit board layout so that was a big help in planning out my installation.
I planned it out to the tee for my wife’s 2002 Durango with a 4.7L engine.
 3 weeks of planning followed by 3 days of installation, of which I felt really confident about has left me totally confused as to what went wrong as was evident when I tried to program the remotes.
There’s a 2 way remote and a one way transmitter.  When I programmed the 2 way remote by opening the door, turning the key to run and holding 2 buttons down until the remote played a melody, all seemed to go well but then when I went to do the one way transmitter, which stated that it would chirp 3 times if successful, it only chirped twice which supposedly means that it thinks the door is closed and it needs to be opened to program.
I then tried to program the tach but when I pressed the valet key button, nothing happened. I am assuming/hoping that is because the remote programming was unsuccessful.
I tried starting it with the 2 way remote and all it does is play a melody. The car has a transponder in the key and I installed a bypass which is keyless. I don’t think this is the problem because I believe if it was then it would crank but not start.