multiple video screens

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
gec123 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: April 29, 2013 at 9:30 AM / IP Logged  
Hello All,
I have a 2009 Mazda 6 that I am installing multiple video screens into. The car has 2 outlets for 12 volt power one that is accessory and one that is constant. A few months ago I wired in a flip down monitor and reverse camera using the accessory. This weekend I tried to install to head rest monitors with a video amp/splitter and used the same source of accessory power but kept blowing the fuse. It worked for one headrest monitor but as soon as I did the other one the fuse would go. The same thing would happen, I could run the headrests with no problem but if I turned on the flip down then it would go out. So after some reading I figured out I was over my amperage and was causing the fuse to pop. I'm a newbie, but hey I'm learning.
My thought is to use the constant 12volt outlet but obviously I don't want to slowly drain the battery, so looking to turn that source of power into an accessory line and research has led me to relays. I have never used one before, but looking at different diagrams it seems this is a good solution to provide separate power to the headrest monitors and video amp. I am sure this is probably basic stuff for most of you, but would appreciate any assistance. Thank you!!!
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: April 29, 2013 at 9:48 AM / IP Logged  
Use a relay.
GND to 95
IGN +12V or ACC +12V to 86
battery thru fuse to 30
87 to screens.
The fuse should be rated for about 1.3 times the load current or more, and less than the smallest rated cable from that fuse.   
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: April 29, 2013 at 10:07 AM / IP Logged  
howie ll 
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: April 29, 2013 at 10:10 AM / IP Logged