the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

poor range on only one function


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
newbieve6 
Member - Posts: 42
Member spacespace
Joined: November 21, 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: November 21, 2014 at 1:09 PM / IP Logged  
Hi,
Hello every one, newly registered to get my feet wet.
I have a Compustar CM6200 brain with 2W remote on
2008 Acura MDX. Lately something weird started
happening.
I can start car, query the car with remote at usual distance
like from inside the house but door lock/unlock has much diminished
range now. I have to be near the car to unlock or lock the door.
When I try spare 1W remote same thing happens.
What could be possibly wrong? Reprogramming remotes does not make
any difference. Something went bad with the brain or remotes? They
were installed ~4 years ago. Any helpful suggestions/recommendations
most appreciated.
newbieve6 
Member - Posts: 42
Member spacespace
Joined: November 21, 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: November 22, 2014 at 10:32 PM / IP Logged  
Hi,
Follow up on my own thread without any responses. B4 I embark on trouble-shooting, I notice CM6200 brain has two antenna connectors
which my antenna now is 4 pin one. Does than mean CM6200 has two different RX/TX?
I have few more mild days ahead so this is my plan.
First I am going to disconnect battery to reset every thing.
1. Try new remote, if this does not make a difference (I hope it does)
2. Try 6 pin antenna and P2W901-SS remote. If it works, some thing
   must be wrong with 4 pin antenna radio circuit on the brain.
3. If still no difference, then it must be brain. Here I am wondering
   if I can move the blade from CM6200 to CM7200 and rewire? Or find
   a replacement CM6200.
Hope this 3 steps will find the problem. I am keeping my fingers crossed. Any advices welcome.
TIA,
Tony
newbieve6 
Member - Posts: 42
Member spacespace
Joined: November 21, 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: November 26, 2014 at 6:36 PM / IP Logged  
Hi,
Tried new remote and it did not make any difference.
Still range is poor. Going on to step 2, waiting for
6 pin antenna RF kit.
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: November 26, 2014 at 8:25 PM / IP Logged  
check your ground.
Ted
2nd Year Tier 1 Medical School
Still installing as a hobby...pays for groceries
Compustar Expert
newbieve6 
Member - Posts: 42
Member spacespace
Joined: November 21, 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: November 26, 2014 at 10:17 PM / IP Logged  
Hi,
If grounding is poor, wouldn't it affect other function keys as well?
Also it remote starts every time without any issue with good range.
Any how I'll double check the ground wire connection then.
Thanks,
Tony
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: November 27, 2014 at 7:31 AM / IP Logged  
the blade can be moved from the 6200 to the new 7x00 series controllers.
personally i have seen this "hiccup" before, but it was resolved with fixing the ground or doing a controller software update.
also try reprogramming the blade module with a reset, then reprogram. reprogramming instructions are on idatalink.com
Ted
2nd Year Tier 1 Medical School
Still installing as a hobby...pays for groceries
Compustar Expert
newbieve6 
Member - Posts: 42
Member spacespace
Joined: November 21, 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: December 02, 2014 at 6:29 PM / IP Logged  
Hi,
Thanks for pointers. More things to try. RF P2W901-SS kit
did not make a difference. Waiting for ADS-USB cable to re-
flash the blade. I have no idea how to update brain(CM6200).
Maybe that is only for pro installers? As retired this issue
is personal challenge to pass time learning something new, LOL!
shafferny 
Copper - Posts: 240
Copper spacespace
Joined: February 02, 2008
Location: New York, United States
Posted: December 02, 2014 at 7:11 PM / IP Logged  
You can flash the CM6200 yourself. Just go to http://compustar.idatalink.com/ and create a Weblink account. If it asks for your business name, I just put in something like "free lance installer." You will have to download and install the Weblink software too.
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: December 02, 2014 at 8:59 PM / IP Logged  
make sure you install the weblink software PRIOR to connecting the usb or you'll have nothing but connectivity issues.
Ted
2nd Year Tier 1 Medical School
Still installing as a hobby...pays for groceries
Compustar Expert
newbieve6 
Member - Posts: 42
Member spacespace
Joined: November 21, 2014
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: December 02, 2014 at 10:17 PM / IP Logged  
Hi,
Thanks. All is ready. Just waiting for ADS-USB cable to arrive.
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, January 30, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer