tools

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
manahawkinrob 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 06, 2015 at 1:21 PM / IP Logged  
Hey Guys,
I was wondering if some of the pros on here can tell me what tools you guys use for your installs. I am by no means a pro, but I find the right tool for the job always makes things easier.
DMM? What/how do you use your DMM to test wires? I have the standard DMM but I find the probes are too big and I usually fashion a small wire into a probe. Is there a better way? Is there a probe that will test wires without penetration? I have seen them for VAC but not VDC.
Soldering iron. What brand and model? A special tip? I have the cheap 5 dollar special and it is difficult to say the least to properly heat the wire to get the solder to melt. I usually have to help it by melting a little on the tip of the iron.
Strip tool. Anything special? What one works for you best?
Any other cool tools in the box?
As always, thanks for your time. I really appreciate it.
markls 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 06, 2015 at 1:25 PM / IP Logged  
I bet you'll get lots of good replies to this post!
As for me, I paid extra for a Fluke probe set for my DMM. Some of the probes have *tiny* needle tips. You could never tell I poked & tested that wire.
Soldering iron -- my best investment was a butane iron. Wireless AND very high heat. I'll never go back. tools -- posted image.
markls 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 06, 2015 at 1:28 PM / IP Logged  
tools -- posted image.
This is the butane iron I use, the UT300. I find the right-angle (gun-style) design to be most convenient.
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace