the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

avital 4103 not starting


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
oisonit 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: June 22, 2008
Location: Virginia, United States
Posted: January 17, 2015 at 9:22 PM / IP Logged  
I've browsed the other topics I could find regarding this issue but have had no luck yet. Hopefully I'll include all the details to determine what the issue might be.
Avital 4103 on a 2009 Scion xb
Remote Start Plug
(2) red constant from avital tied together connected to (+) white 12v constant at ignition switch
Pink/white from avital connected to (+) white ignition 2 at ignition switch
Orange from avital connected to (+) black ACCESSORY /HEATER at ignition switch
Purple from avital connected to (+) white starter at ignition switch
Pink from avital connected to (+) gray ignition 1 at ignition switch
Remote start harness
BLACK/ white from avital grounded to bolt on frame
violet/white from avital connected to gray tach wire at data plug
brown from avital connected to blue brake wire at pedal
gray from avital connected to hood pin
blue/white from avital not used
Satellite harness
not used
Main Harness
black from avital grounded to bolt on frame
white from avital not hooked up yet
I think I covered all the wires I have connected. My issue is the remote start function. After pressing the asterick button the avital acts as if it is trying to start vehicle but never actually cranks. After the the three tries if I run the shutdown diagnostics I get 3 flashes from LED. I went in to menu 2 feature 1 and selected option 4, I started vehicle with key and re-learned tach. (is there a way to check which option is currently selected or a way to reset?)Still a no go with the remote start. I can perform the valet take over function and the vehicle will stay running. I hope this is a clear explanation. Thank you for any help you can provide on my situation.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,644
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: January 17, 2015 at 9:37 PM / IP Logged  

Did you verify that your xB does not have a transponder based ignition immobilizer system?  Try a R/S with the ignition key head held next to the ignition switch.

There is a Starter2 wire that should be powered during a remote start with an isolated/separate R/S Starter circuit.

There are multiple White wires at the main ignition harness.  Did you verify each wires function with a DMM?

Soldering is fun!
oisonit 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: June 22, 2008
Location: Virginia, United States
Posted: January 17, 2015 at 9:53 PM / IP Logged  
I am under the impression the scion does not have a transponder. I did try to start vehicle with key inserted in ignition and in on position but it did not start.
True on the starter2 wire, I don't have anything hooked to this. I wasn't sure what wire would connect to this from the avital. Which wire from the avital would go to starter2 wire?
There are multiple white wires coming from ignition, I did test them to ensure proper function before connecting avital wires.
Thanks for the help
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,644
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: January 18, 2015 at 3:52 AM / IP Logged  

Some xB's did have transponder systems.  Very strange that the 4103 could not remote start the car with the key in and

turned to ON.  ( Perhaps you have the Avital Starter output connected to Starter2? )
STARTER     WHITE (+)  @ IGNITION SWITCH, (WHITE, 8-PIN PLUG), PIN 8   
STARTER 2  WHITE (+)  @ IGNITION SWITCH, (WHITE, 8-PIN PLUG), PIN 1 

For the Starter2 wire you will need an extra 30/40 Amp SPDT relay, an inline fuse holder and appropriate fuse.  Here is the

wiring.

Relay Pin 85 to Avital 4103 PINK (-) STARTER OUTPUT, 4-pin satellite harness

Relay Pin 86 & 87 to +12V constant through fuse
Relay Pin 30 to xB Starter2 @ ignition switch harness
Relay Pin 87a not used - insulate

Soldering is fun!
oisonit 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: June 22, 2008
Location: Virginia, United States
Posted: January 18, 2015 at 8:23 AM / IP Logged  
Thank you for the info. I will give that a try and post the results. Thanks again.
davep. 
Gold - Posts: 635
Gold spacespace
Joined: May 27, 2011
Location: California, United States
Posted: January 18, 2015 at 12:12 PM / IP Logged  
kreg357 wrote:
Here is the wiring.
Relay Pin 85 to Avital 4103 PINK(-) STARTER OUTPUT, 4-pin satellite harness
TYPO ALERT!!!
Avital satellite STARTER OUTPUT is PURPLE
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,644
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: January 18, 2015 at 12:30 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks for catching that Dave.  I even cut and pasted it right out of the install guide, plus I knew and even mentioned it in a Pictorial.  avital 4103 not starting -- posted image.
Soldering is fun!
oisonit 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: June 22, 2008
Location: Virginia, United States
Posted: January 18, 2015 at 2:07 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks guys for correcting that. I'll be doing this later today.
oisonit 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Joined: June 22, 2008
Location: Virginia, United States
Posted: January 18, 2015 at 6:27 PM / IP Logged  
Works like it's supposed to now. I really appreciate the help.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer