the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2004 trailblazer, idatalink, cm-800 wiring


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
7808 
Member - Posts: 41
Member spacespace
Joined: November 04, 2007
Posted: December 20, 2015 at 2:41 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote 7808
i have a cm800 computstar, idatalink al-can and a 2004 trailblazer. im looking at this http://cdncontent2.idatalink.com/corporate/Content/Manuals/TB-GM/ADS-AL(TB)-GM-EN_20150217.pdf
type 1 install, it looks like the only connections i need to make to the car is - + ground when running and ignition + and one wire from the obd port to the bypass for data? seems too easy
ive installed remote starts before the old fashioned way lol not using data connection and its a little confusing, im not sure what actual connections i need to make for the remote start module and what the bypass module can control just through one data wire..
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,529
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: December 20, 2015 at 3:26 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357

Nope.  Nothing is that easy.    2004 trailblazer, idatalink, cm-800 wiring - Last Post -- posted image.

IDatalink install guide only shows the necessary wires for their part in the install.  There are many wires on the CS800-s
that will need connecting to the Trailblazer.

Basically you will connect all the thick ignition wires plus many from the 12 pin connector. 

First things first.  If you have the ADS AL-CA bypass module, why are you using the TB firmware?  You can get a lot

more bang for your buck with the DL GM1 firmware.  Here is a link to that install guide :
http://cdncontent2.idatalink.com/corporate/Content/Manuals/DL-GM1/ADS-AL(DL)-GM1_20111004.pdf
This will take care of the locks, alarm and supply a Tach signal.  Definitely worth the time and trouble to get the full
featured firmware loaded on the bypass module.

There is a Pictorial that should be of help with your install :  https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/forum_posts.asp?tid=130514

Soldering is fun!
7808 
Member - Posts: 41
Member spacespace
Joined: November 04, 2007
Posted: December 21, 2015 at 6:08 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote 7808
ok thanks. unfortuneatly i ordered the module flashed from a website 12voltsavings so hopefully they loaded it with the better firmware. maybe ill email and see huh
i think when i was reading this module can start some cars with the oem key fob by pushing start 3 times, i was thinking wow this thing must do almost everything via the data bus, but looks like i still will be making a dozen connections lol
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,529
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: December 21, 2015 at 7:33 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357

Yes, it all depends on which vehicle you install it on.  Some newer cars it's stand-alone.  Your Trailblazer is not one of those.

You might be able to get a local BestBuy or 12V shop to update the firmware on the module if it's not the right one.

Soldering is fun!
7808 
Member - Posts: 41
Member spacespace
Joined: November 04, 2007
Posted: December 21, 2015 at 10:31 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote 7808
i see i linked to the install guide for the other firmware, im really not sure which firmware i have. i emailed the seller but i will install it assuming i have the better firmware, and probably get it flashed or flash it myself if i find out it has the other. too bad they dont let you use any usb serial adapter to flash, im sure thats all it is.
7808 
Member - Posts: 41
Member spacespace
Joined: November 04, 2007
Posted: December 22, 2015 at 3:44 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote 7808
Thanks for the help, i have one more question . the bypass needs 2 wires (besides the 4 pin data connector) data from the obd and ign from the remote start. The idata diagram shows it comming from the remote start. Im not sure where to get that ign from, if the remote start has a small gauge wire or should i just take it from the car it self?
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,529
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: December 22, 2015 at 5:06 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357

Assuming ADS-AL(DL)-GM1 firmware and the Type 3 Install wiring.  The ADS AL-CA's Pink Ignition (+) Input wire would

be connected to the CS800-s CN1-7 thick Green (+) 12V Ignition wire.  This CN1-7 Green wire makes the run to the
Trailblazers Pink Ignition 1 wire.  In the Pictorial, there is a photo of the R/S and the bypass module and a similar connection
between them.  Even though it was an Ultra Start U1272 and a Fortin INT-SL in W2W mode, there is a Pink wire from the
INT-SL bypass connected to the U1272 R/S's thick Blue IGN1 output wire.

You can't re-program one of the CS800-s POC wires as an Ignition Output wire ( Programming Option 3-08 through 3-11 )

because that output would be (-).  The ADS AL-CA w/DL GM1 Pink wire is looking for a (+) Ignition Input.

Soldering is fun!
7808 
Member - Posts: 41
Member spacespace
Joined: November 04, 2007
Posted: December 23, 2015 at 2:16 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote 7808
thanks for the help. it must have the better firmware because everything went smooth. except for the programing part was not exactly clear when it says "turn to start" and if its red it doesnt have enough info from the vehicle. i was like um.. go to diagnostics and it says "not enough info from vehicle" but doesnt say what to do. so i started the car and it was programmed.

If you wish to post a reply to this topic, you must first login.
If you are not already registered, you must first register.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, December 3, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer