the12volt.com spacer
icon

2006 Silverado 1500 Bypass Module

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
cbus 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: June 09, 2017 at 12:21 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote cbus
I've been looking through the post for a couple of hours but cannot find the specific question/topic I was looking for, so I decided to start a new one. I have a 2006 Chevy Silverado 1500 WT and all I'm looking to do is bypass the passlock feature. The truck will currently not start because the passlock feature has been activated somehow/someway and I've tries all of the quick/easy fixes I could find on the web. There's no extra bells/whistles (heated seats, car alarm, high-end radio, power doors/locks/windows, etc.), except someone installed a thrid-party cruise control on it. I was wondering which reasonably priced bypass module would be the easiest to install. I'm not a novice but also I don't have an electrical engineering degree. Thanks in advance.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,781
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 10, 2017 at 9:42 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
Well, you have some choices to make.
First, do you want to bypass or eliminate the Passlock2 engine immobilizer system. A slight difference between
the two. A bypass is usually used in conjunction with a Remote Start system and it only functions during the
Remote Start operation. A total elimination of the Passlock2 system would allow the truck to start with the
key all the time, every time but would remove anti-theft feature provided by Passlock2.
You could add a bypass module all by itself and turn it on manually with a hidden switch. This would allow