the12volt.com spacer
icon

Avital 4105L and 2006 Ford Fusion

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
glyde92 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: December 27, 2017 at 1:10 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote glyde92
I need to tap into the expertise of this forum in a bad way. My son got an Avital 4105L for Christmas. We will be installing it in his 2006 Fusion. I've looked at the wiring diagram and done some Google research but am not ready to dive right in. He has a third key and I was thinking a 556U bypass would be cost effective and do the job. I really would be profoundly grateful if I could get enough help/advice on this post to help me get the job done without taking his car out of service for more than a day. I have never installed a remote start so I'm a newbie. I did some basic electronics in the Air Force many years ago, have a certain amount of common sense, perseverance, but lack the knowledge to give me the confidence to dive in without leaning on someone more experienced. Please spare no detail...
D Hall
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,783
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: December 27, 2017 at 2:43 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
OK, here is the info...
First, you want to check to see if the Fusion has the Factory Alarm system. There will be an additional
wire connection to make if it does.
Second, you should consider a bypass module in place of the 556U with a working key inside. A 556U goes
for about $12. A Directed 1100F bypass module can be found on EBay for $20. It's a few more wires to
run and some programming steps but it provides better security and more reliable cold weather remote