the12volt.com spacer
icon

2002 Volvo V70 Alarm Installation

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
gtdms 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: September 02, 2018 at 2:30 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote gtdms
Hi All,
this is my first post here so I live in uk and found this very intresting and informative forum which I am looking forward to learn and share my experiences with you.
I am considering to have an budget after market Chinese car alarm/key less entry system installed on 2002 Volvo v70. I have basic electronics background but never installed a car alarm before. Few people say that Volvos are big hassle to have aftermarket alarms installed but that potentially it is possible if the installer is good enough. As I didn't find any reference to volvos here in this forum I would like to hear from who have done sucessfully or not to share their experience here. A car mechanic told me that the car canbus wouldn't like. The factory alarm never worked in this car since I bought, alarm siren is dead and key fobs are missing prices of these parts on Volvo are much higher than a new alarm system and ther emay be a possibilty their may be something else wrong with the car so an aftermarket is a far more atractive solution . Any ideas how to do this could be done on a car like this would be much appreciated? Thanks
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,668
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: September 02, 2018 at 7:09 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote geepherder
While I have only done one keyless entry on an old Volvo (don't remember year/model), see if this helps:
http://www.bulldogsecurity.com/bdnew/vehiclewiringdiagrams.aspx
http://diagrams.marktoonen.nl/printlist.aspx?MakeID=42&ModelID=18693
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
eguru 
Copper - Posts: 340
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 02, 2018 at 8:35 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote eguru